When a Missouri resident is charged with driving while intoxicated, they could potentially face a misdemeanor charge or a felony charge. The severity of the charge they receive depends on a number of factors, including whether or not they have previous charges, their blood alcohol levels and if anyone suffered an injury in the alleged incident.
If you have been charged with a third DWI in Missouri, you may know that third and subsequent drunk driving convictions are considered Class D felonies in the state, which carry a potential sentence of up to four years in the Department of Corrections. If you end up with a felony on your record, you could also face additional, collateral consequences that could extend far beyond the end of your sentence, such as problems finding jobs and housing.
Missouri drivers may be interested in some general information about felony DWI. While DWI is generally considered a misdemeanor, certain circumstances can elevate the criminal charges to the level of a felony.
A man is facing multiple criminal charges in central Missouri after the vehicle he was driving collided with a guardrail during the early morning hours of June 22. According to news reports, the 42-year-old driver has been taken into police custody and is being held at Callaway County Jail on $14,000 bond. Police allege that the driver resisted arrest and was under the influence of alcohol when the accident occurred.
On Aug. 9, 2013, a woman was involved in a wrong-way accident in Midtown. Police said that the 26-year-old motorist ran headfirst into an oncoming vehicle in a crash that killed the other driver. Authorities did not specify what could have caused the woman to get onto the I-64 motorway from the wrong direction, but initial reports said that the exit she entered from had visibly posted wrong-way signage. On Nov. 22, 2013, authorities announced that she had been officially indicted on criminal charges.
On July 28, a 39-year-old man who pleaded guilty to involuntary manslaughter for driving while intoxicated in 1997 was pulled over by Creve Coeur police and charged with DWI. While it has been more than a decade and a half since his last offense, he is being charged with a DWI as a repeat offender.