Bars are fun places for adults who want to get away for a little bit. Whether you’re going for a nightcap after work or partying with friends on the weekend, it’s important that you remember to behave like an adult.
Sometimes, issues in bars lead to barfights. In some instances, alcohol plays a role in these fights. Individuals who are involved in them may wonder if they can face criminal charges for their part in the fight.
The short answer is that you can face assault charges for actions in a bar fight. The exact charge you’ll face depends on the circumstances of the incident.
What are the penalties for an assault in Missouri?
Missouri law divides assault into four degrees, with first degree being the most serious and fourth degree being the least serious. Of these, all are felony charges except for assault in the fourth degree.
Assault in the first degree
Assault in the first degree is a class B felony that can lead to incarceration for 5 to 15 years. This charge is reserved for cases involving knowingly trying to cause or causing serious injury to a person.
Assault in the second degree
Assault in the second degree is a class D felony. Up to $10,000 in fines and imprisonment for up to seven years are possible upon conviction.
Assault in the third degree
Assault in the third degree is a class E felony. This comes with up to four years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Assault in the fourth degree
Assault in the fourth degree is a class A misdemeanor but might be reduced to a class C misdemeanor in some cases. A class A misdemeanor can lead to up to one year in prison and fines of up to $2,000. A class C misdemeanor comes with up to 15 days in jail and up to $750 in fines.
Learning your defense options for any violent crime charge is crucial. A conviction on these charges can carry serious penalties and collateral consequences. Working with someone who’s familiar with these matters and understands how to handle them is beneficial.